Education for Ministry (EfM)

Every baptized person is called to ministry. The Education for Ministry (EfM) program provides people with the education to carry out that lay ministry through a four-year program of study meeting one day a week. During the Service of Confirmation we ask God to “Renew in these your servants the covenant you made with them at Baptism. Send them forth in the power of the Spirit to perform the service you set before them.” EfM offers an opportunity to discover how to respond to the call to Christian service.

The seminar group is the nucleus of the Education for Ministry program. A group consists of six to twelve participants and a trained mentor who meet weekly over the course of a nine-month academic year. These meetings are usually from two and a half to three hours in length.

Through study, prayer, and reflection, EfM groups move toward a new understanding of the fullness of God’s kingdom. This process can be illustrated by a two-rail fence. One rail is the Christian tradition. The other is the collective experience of the group’s members. The rails are linked by fence posts which represent the seminar sessions where life and study meet. The fence is grounded in the soil of regular worship which is vital to the life of the group.

Participants are given weekly assignments to study with the help of resource guides. Students are responsible for setting their own learning goals. They spend between two and four hours in study and preparation each week. In the seminars members have an opportunity to share their insights and discoveries as well as to discuss questions which the study materials raise for them.

Through discussion and guided reflection, the seminars furnish an opportunity to deepen understanding of the reading materials.

More important is the development of skills in theological reflection. The goal is to learn to think theologically. By examining their own beliefs and their relationship to our culture and the tradition of our Christian faith, participants can learn what it means to be effective ministers in the world. In coming to terms with the notion that everything we do has potential for manifesting the love of Christ, we discover that our ministry is at hand wherever we turn.

The seminar is supported by a life of prayer and regular worship. EfM groups are encouraged to develop a pattern of worship appropriate to their situations. Liturgical materials are furnished with the course materials.

Diocese of Georgia – EfM Mentors
June 2016

Albany/Americus

The Rev. Bill Stewart – frbll@bellsouth.net
Gordon Zeese – gordonz623@bellsouth.net
The Rev. Dcn. Ri Lamb – donandrilamb@gmail.com

Augusta

The Rev. Curtis Johnson – lcjohnson1647@att.net
The Rev. Dcn. John Warner – jwarner6@comcast.net
The Rev. Dcn. Ray Whiting – janiceandraywhiting@gmail.com
The Rev. John Jenkins – jjenkins@saintpauls.org

Brunswick

The Rev. Alan Akridge – aakridge@saintmarksepiscopal.com
R.V. Cate – rxcate@yahoo.com
Greg Wellstead – gregwellstead@gmail.com

Darien

Latrelle Peterson – reallylostintheforest@gmail.com
Wynette Brimer – wbrimer@darientel.net

Martinez

Gordon Thomas – gordon.thomas1366@att.net

Rincon

The Rev. David Rose – frdavid@stlukesrincon.com

St. Mary’s

Susan Kenyon – suekenyonlcsw@tds.net

Saint Simons Island

The Rev. June Johnson – holynativityssi@gmail.com

Savannah

Misty Graham – misty.mcintyre.graham@gmail.com
Serena Nasworthy – serena120@comcast.net
The Rev. Guillermo Arboleda – therevgaa@gmail.com
The Rev. Kelly Steele – revksteele@gmail.com
Arboleda and Steel are leading an EfM group which is open to all, but especially suitable for young people who wish to explore Christian faith and practice, even if they do not attend a church or identify as “Christian.”

Statesboro

The Rev. Joan Kilian – rector@trinitystatesboro.org

Thomasville

Susan Gage – susangagelmt@yahoo.com

Tifton

The Rev. Ellen Richardson, MD – ellen@stannestifton.com


Diocesan House

Diocesan House
611 East Bay Street
Savannah, Georgia 31401-1296
Phone (912) 236-4279
Fax (912)236-2007

Find an Episcopal Church

Search this website

Diocesan Calendar


Click on the calendar image above to see the diocesan calendar of events.